Zeta History

Zeta Phi Beta was organized at Howard University on January 16, 1920, as the result of the encouragement given the five founders by Charles Taylor and Langston Taylor, members of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity. Thus, Zetas and Sigmas are the first and only official Greek letter sister and brother organization.

The five founders, also called our Five Pearls, are:
Arizona Cleaver
Myrtle Tyler
Viola Tyler
Fannie Pettie
Pearl Neal

Our four founding principles are:

Zeta Phi Beta was the first Greek letter sorority organized in Africa. More than 500 collegiate and graduate chapters are divided into nine regions in the United States and Africa, the Bahamas, Alaska, Germany, and St. Croix.

Our sorority has auxillary groups called the Amicaes, Amicettes, and Archonettes. The name Amicae is given to an organized group of women interested in Zeta ideals and activities. The Amicette clubs are for girls ages nine to thirteen, and the Archonette clubs are for young ladies ages 14-18. These individuals are invited to membership based on their interest in the high ideals of Zeta Phi Beta, and demonstrate potential leadership in service to the community.

Famous Zetas

Epsilon Mu Chapter Pages

[The Epsilon Mu Chapter][ ZetaPhiBetaSigma Links][ Calendar of Events]

Return to the top of this document...

Return to the Sigma1 Home Page

Return to gberry's Home Page

Click on image to send e-mail to: gberry@afn.org

[Home Page] [Peg Board][Zeta History][ACCUG HOME PAGE]
[ADDWARP][Warp '96] [Sigma1] [Zeta1] [pagetop]

Karl A Granberry for Nouveau Graphic Designs, Inc. © 1997

[Warpmade][OS2 Warp4 Now][Netscape Now]
[Netscape for OS2 Warp]